Back to All Events

2018 York University High School Women's Debate Championship

  • Debating Society at York University 90 Atkinson Road Toronto, ON, M3J 2S5 Canada (map)
Non-OSDU Event.jpg
York University Logo.jpg

2018 York University High School Women's Debate Championship

Dear OSDU Members, Teachers, Judges & Coaches, 

OSDU is happy to pass on the following invitation to the 2018 York University High School Women's Debate Championship -- a NON-OSDU EVENT -- on March 9 & 10, 2018: 

"Dear Coaches, Debaters and Colleagues,

The York Debate Society is pleased to invite you to the 2018 York U High School Women’s Debate Championship on March 9th - 10th. Included in this invitation package are the tournament information, schedule, and registration deadline. If you have any questions, please feel free to email  


We are extremely excited to be offering one of the deepest judging pools ever assembled for a high school event. We are continuing to recruit even more high quality judges but some of the people who have already confirmed their attendance include:

Alexandra Sundarsingh - CA North American University Debate Championships
Amelia McLeod - WUDC Grand Final Panelist
Monica Ferris - CA CP and BP National Championships
Sarah Sahagian - CA North American Women’s Debate Championships
Holly Kallmeyer - HHIV Grand Final Panelist
Julia Kirby - Chancellor’s Cup Final Panelist

All rounds will be chaired by female debaters and the majority of these chairs have experience as Chief Adjudicators at major university and high school events.


York University GA:
4700 Keele St, Toronto Ross Building South
M3J 1P3 Room S137


Dinner on Friday, and breakfast and lunch on Saturday will be provided. Please include any dietary restrictions in the registration package included below.


Please register your teams (with the payment) by February 21th 2018. There will be a team cap of 2 teams per school. Schools wishing to send more than 2 teams should include this request with their registration and any remaining spots will be allocated after the payment deadline. Registration will be on a first come first serve basis so it's recommended to register as soon as possible via the registration form below:

Fees:                   $120/two person team

Cheques should be mailed out to:

Debating Society at York
90 Atkinson Rd  Apt. No. 204
North York, ON
M3J 2S5

Style:                 British Parliamentary


Coaches are responsible for arranging accommodations for themselves and their teams.

Suggested hotels:

Holiday Inn Express Toronto-North York
30 Norfinch Dr,
North York, ON  M3N 1X1
(416) 665-3500

Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
50 Norfinch Dr,
Toronto, ON   M3N 1X1
(416) 663-9500


Friday, March 9th, 2018
3:30 - 5:00 PM Registration
5:00 - 5:30 PM Introductions and Briefings
5:30 - 6:45 PM Round 1
6:45 - 7:30 PM Dinner
7:30 - 8:45 PM Round 2

Saturday, March 10th, 2018
8:30 - 9:30 AM Check In & Breakfast
9:30 - 11:15 AM Round 3
11:15 - 1:00 PM Round 4
1:00 - 1:45 PM Lunch
1:45 - 3:30 PM Round 5 (Hidden Quarters)
3:30 - 5:15 PM Semi-Finals & Novice Finals
5:15 - 7:00 PM Finals
7:00 - 8:00 PM Awards

This schedule is subject to change.

Junior Debaters:

This tournament will be open to students from grade 7 to grade 12. Within the tournament there will be a junior final for the top four junior teams to debate in front of an audience (pending sufficient junior teams). Junior debaters are debaters in grade 9 or younger. In order to qualify as a junior team, both debaters must be juniors.

Tianzhi Yang & Rebecca Giblon
Tournament Directors "